Navigation
Contact Contact +41 71 223 50 30 DEEN zu Deutsch wechseln

"Controlling is always oriented towards the future". Despite the fact that the postulated future orientation is often contrary to the existing controlling tools, where mostly past-oriented values are analyzed and presented in sophisticated Excel spreadsheets, this phrase is often heard in practice or science and is a key element of a modern-oriented and decision based controlling system. The St. Gallen Center for Controlling addresses the challenges of a future-oriented controlling by linking useful information from the past, the present, and the future and processing the findings in the form of options and alternatives.

With this information available, decision- makers such as supervisory councils, managing directors, department or project managers can - on the basis of this information - decide on applications, projects or investments. Thereby, they take responsibility for results, while the controller is responsible for their transparency. Making this distinction, the term “Controlling” can be described as the result of such a division of responsibility. Another way to see it is the synonymous meaning of the verb “to control”, i.e. “to govern” or “to lead”.

The St. Gallen Center for Controlling focuses on this aspect of controlling. The different mechanisms by which a control system is controlled, led and governed should also apply to the system called "company" to control, lead and govern it into the future. But before we can take this step, we must define the target state, our objective - in the control system as well as in the company -, similar to a pilot who has to know the destination of his flight. Only when he knows his destination, he can prepare accordingly in order to reach his objective and correctly interpret the data, pointers and lights in the cockpit. He controls his aircraft towards his destination, making use of all kinds of information. Therefore, controlling always serves as a future-oriented instrument.

From the perspective of the corporate world, the following question arises: On what basis does controlling determines future targets? How does it know "where to fly the plane"? The answer lies in the holistic St. Gallen Management Model: responsible for a company's medium-term orientation is its strategy. Considering normative values, a strategy is setting clear objectives, which are then operationalized and translated into concrete measures. According to this classification, while following the St. Galler management approach, the St. Gallen Centre for Controlling divides the topic into three areas and furthermore offers the full range of practical know-how.

Title
  • Normative Controlling: Normative Controlling is based on requirements of the normative level such as values, ethical and moral base, corporate culture and social responsibility. With regards to controlling, a minimum equity ratio is one of the numbers company owners specify on the basis of normative reasons. Particularly noteworthy is the company's long-term basic orientation regarding the balance between stability and profitability targets.
  • Strategic Controlling: On a strategic level, the objectives are set for the next three to five years. Based on the desired position in the market, the quantitative objectives such as sales, EBIT, cash flow, investment and operational costs are derived. On the one hand, they are used as a basis for determining how plausible the financial viability of strategic initiatives is. On the other hand, they serve as a guideline for operational controlling. Strategic Controlling is supplemented by non-financial indicators, accompanying the strategy implementation in the form of balanced cockpit systems and laying the basis for an integrated performance management system.
  • Operative Controlling: Liquidity planning, quarterly and weekly reports are crucial to operational management responsibility. The main challenge lies in designing a reporting process that suits your company. The controlling work focuses on the essentials and avoids overly complex tools, in order to align reports purposefully and make sure they are understood and interpreted correctly.

Consulting Services

  • Verification, adjustment or re-design of reporting systems (such as quarterly reporting, liquidity planning, monthly reports).
  • Development and validation of investment calculation models (incl. sensitivity analysis and financial models)
  • Producing and analyzing of business plans
  • Supporting the implementation of modern budgeting systems (such as rolling forecasts, decentralized budgets, beyond budgeting approaches).
  • Designing and developing holistic management cockpit systems (such as balanced scorecards and performance management systems).

SGMI Open Programs: Seminars

Head

Gilbert Malgiaritta, lic.oec.HSG
Executive Director "Open Programs" and Director of the Center for Controlling at SGMI Management Institute St. Gallen

Gilbert Malgiaritta holds a degree in Business Administration from the University of St. Gallen (lic.oec. HSG) with specialization in Finance, Accounting and Controlling.

As executive director he is responsible for conceptual design, planning and development of courses for open programs and masters & diplomas. The programs aim to provide field tested and application-oriented approaches. The focus is on offering management education tailored to the target audience that considers the individual needs of the executive.

As a specialist in financial management and controlling, he is characterized by his vast experience as a teacher, coach, and consultant. For years, he has been training managers at all levels in the areas of financial management, controlling, profit management and strategic controlling, earning highest customer satisfaction. His range of service covers the rich variety of finance and accounting for SMEs as well as large corporations. His work focuses, among others, on the following areas:

  • Management Tools of Financial Management and Controlling (Control Reports)
  • Financial and Indicators Analysis
  • Liquidity Planning, Planning and Budgeting, Business Plan
  • Investment and Profitability Calculations
  • Cost Accounting Systems
  • Strategic Controlling

Head

Gilbert Malgiaritta 
lic.oec.HSG

Executive Director "Open Programs" and Director of the Center for Controlling at SGMI Management Institute St. Gallen

Further information

+41 71 223 50 30

Navigation
Kontakt Kontakt +41 71 223 50 30 ENDE Switch to English

„Controlling ist immer zukunftsorientiert“. Diese in Praxis und Wissenschaft häufig gehörte Aussage stellt in der Tat ein zentrales Element eines modern ausgerichteten und entscheidungsbasierten Controlling-Systems dar. Und dies obwohl die postulierte Zukunftsorientierung häufig im Widerspruch zu den vorhandenen Controlling-Instrumenten in der Praxis steht, wo nicht selten vergangenheitsorientierte Werte in sophistizierten Excel-Tabellen analysiert und präsentiert werden. An dieser Stelle greift das Center for Controlling die Herausforderungen an ein in die Zukunft gerichtetes Controlling auf: das Verbinden von nützlichen Informationen aus der Vergangenheit, der Gegenwart und der Zukunft mit der Aufbereitung der daraus gewonnenen Erkenntnisse in Form von Optionen und Alternativen.

Sind diese Informationen einmal verfügbar, können Entscheidungsträger wie beispielsweise Aufsichtsräte, Geschäftsführer, Bereichsleiter oder Projektleiter darauf aufbauend über Anträge, Projekte oder Investitionen befinden. Sie übernehmen damit die Verantwortung für die Ergebnisse, der Controller die Verantwortung für die Ergebnistransparenz. Der Begriff Controlling kann somit als das aus dieser Aufgabenteilung entstehende Zusammenspiel beschrieben werden. Oder auch direkt aus der Ableitung des englischen Verbs „to control“, was in der Übersetzung viel eher zur Beschreibung „steuern, lenken, regeln“ als zum Begriff „kontrollieren“ passt.

In dieser kleinen sprachlichen Unterscheidung liegt denn auch der Fokus in der Ausrichtung des Controlling-Gedankens am Center for Controlling. Genau wie in Regelkreis-Systemen gesteuert, gelenkt und geregelt wird, so soll auch in der Unternehmenswelt das System ‚Unternehmen‘ in die Zukunft gesteuert, gelenkt und geregelt werden. Bevor allerdings mit dieser Arbeit begonnen wird, muss – im Regelkreis wie auch im Unternehmen – der Soll-Zustand bzw. das anzustrebende Ziel definiert sein. Genauso wie ein Pilot vor dem Flug wissen muss, wohin die Reise führen soll. Nur auf Basis dieses Wissens kann er anschliessend seine Vorbereitungen zur Zielerreichung vornehmen und die vielen Daten, Zeiger und Lampen im Cockpit zielgerecht deuten. Er steuert sein Flugzeug hin zum Ziel und nutzt dabei Informationen aller Art. Controlling soll also in der Tat stets als zukunftsorientiertes Instrumentarium dienen.

Aus Sicht der Unternehmenswelt stellt sich daraus folgende Frage: woraus entnimmt das Controlling die Zielvorgabe für die Zukunft? Woher weiss es also „wohin das Flugzeug fliegen soll“? Die Antwort liefert das ganzheitliche St. Galler Management Modell: für die mittelfristige Ausrichtung des Unternehmens ist die Strategie verantwortlich. Unter Berücksichtigung der normativen Werte legt sie präzise strategische Ziele fest, die anschliessend operationalisiert und in konkrete Handlungsmassnahmen überführt werden. Dieser Systematik entsprechend und damit dem St. Galler Management-Ansatz folgend teilt das Center for Controlling das Themengebiet in drei Bereiche auf und bietet dazu das gesamte Spektrum an praxisorientiertem Know-how an.

Title
  • Normatives Controlling: Beruht auf Vorgaben der normativen Ebene wie z.B. Wertvorstellungen, ethische und moralische Basis, Unternehmenskultur sowie der Umgang mit der gesellschaftlichen Verantwortung. Bezogen auf das Controlling kann hier das Einhalten einer Mindest-Eigenkapitalquote als Beispiel aufgeführt werden, das von den Eigentümern des Unternehmens u.a. auf Basis von normativen Gründen vorgegeben wird. Besonders erwähnenswert ist hierbei die langfristige Grundausrichtung des Unternehmens bezüglich der Abwägung zwischen Stabilitäts- und Renditezielen.
  • Strategisches Controlling: Auf der Strategischen Ebene werden die Ziele für die nächsten drei bis fünf Jahre festgelegt. Auf Basis der angestrebten Positionierung am Markt werden die quantitativen Zielwerte wie Umsatz, EBIT, Cash Flow, Investitionen und operative Kosten abgeleitet. Diese dienen einerseits als Grundlage zur Plausibilisierung der Finanzierbarkeit der strategischen Initiativen, andererseits als Richtschnur und Vorgabe für das Operative Controlling. Ergänzt wird das Strategische Controlling durch nicht-finanzielle Kennzahlen, die in Form von ausgewogenen Cockpit-Systemen die Strategieumsetzung begleiten und die Basis für ein durchgängiges Performance-Management-System legen.
  • Operatives Controlling: Liquiditätsplanung, Quartalsabschlüsse und Wochen-Reportings sind zentrale Bestandteile der operativen Controlling-Verantwortung. Die zentrale Herausforderung liegt dabei in der Konzeption des für das einzelne Unternehmen optimalen Reporting-Sets. Fokussierung auf das Wesentliche und Vermeidung von überkomplexen Tools stehen dabei im Zentrum der Controlling-Arbeit, damit Reportings zielgerecht ausgerichtet, korrekt verstanden und einfach interpretiert werden können.

Beratungsdienstleistungen

  • Überprüfung, Anpassung oder Neu-Design von Reporting-Systemen (wie z.B. Quartals-Reportings, Liquiditätsplanungen, Monatsberichte).
  • Erarbeitung und Plausibilisierung von Investitionsrechnungs-Modellen (inkl. Sensitivitätsanalysen und Finanzierungsmodelle)
  • Erstellung und Analyse von Business Plänen
  • Unterstützung bei der Implementierung von modernen Budgetierungs-Systemen (wie z.B. Rolling Forecasts, Dezentrale Budgets, Beyond Budgeting-Ansätze).
  • Konzeption und Entwicklung von ganzheitlichen Management-Cockpit-Systemen (wie z.B. Balanced Scorecards und Performance Management Systeme).

Center for Controlling: Seminare

SGMI Open Programs: Seminare

Master und Diplome

Leitung

Gilbert Malgiaritta, lic.oec.HSG
Executive Director «Open Programs» und Direktor des Center for Controlling am SGMI Management Institut St. Gallen

Gilbert Malgiaritta verfügt über einen Abschluss in Betriebswirtschaftslehre der Universität St. Gallen (lic.oec. HSG) mit besonderer Vertiefung in den Bereichen Finanzen, Rechnungslegung und Controlling.

In seiner Funktion als Leiter "überbetriebliche Seminare, Master- und Diplomstudiengänge" zeichnet er für die Konzeption, Planung und Weiterentwicklung von praxiserprobten und anwendungsorientierten Weiterbildungsprogrammen verantwortlich. Der Fokus liegt dabei auf zielgruppenadäquaten Weiterbildungskonzepten, die es ermöglichen, den individuellen Bedürfnissen von Führungskräften Rechnung zu tragen.

Als Spezialist für Finanzmanagement und Controlling zeichnet er sich durch eine langjährige Erfahrung als Dozent, Coach und Berater aus. Seit Jahren trainiert er mit grösster Kundenzufriedenheit Führungskräfte aller Stufen in den Themenbereichen Finanzielle Führung, Controlling, Gewinnmanagement und Strategisches Controlling. Sein Leistungsspektrum deckt dabei die reiche Themenvielfalt des Finanz- und Rechnungswesens ab, für den Mittelstand wie auch für Grosskonzerne. Seine Themenschwerpunkte liegen u.a. in den folgenden Gebieten:

    • Steuerungsinstrumente der finanziellen Führung und des Controllings (Controlling-Reports)
    • Finanz- und Kennzahlenanalyse
    • Liquiditätsplanung, Planung und Budgetierung, Business Plan
    • Investitions- und Wirtschaftlichkeitsberechnungen
    • Kostenrechnungssysteme
    • Strategisches Controlling

Leitung

Gilbert Malgiaritta 
lic.oec.HSG

Executive Director «Open Programs» und Direktor des Center for Controlling am SGMI Management Institut St. Gallen

Information und Beratung

+41 71 223 50 30