Navigation
Contact Contact +41 71 223 50 30 DEEN zu Deutsch wechseln

The St. Gallen Center for Financial Management has the explicit goal to apply the basics of financial management for the customer's benefit comprehensively and application-oriented. The consulting and training work focuses on concrete analysis and decision-making tools. The ultimate goal is a long-term and sustainable increase of corporate value through the implementation of customer-specific solutions. After the joint elaboration of a forward-looking and outward-oriented financial corporate governance, our experts assist in its implementation through hierarchy appropriate management training and integrating employees into the elaborate concept.

Title

In the view of the St. Gallen Centre for Financial Management, financial management includes much more than the company's focus on profits. Sales and cost management undoubtedly are an essential dimension of financial management. However, the income statement alone cannot always explain the success of a company. A company such as Amazon, for example, is not making any notable profit since its foundation but generates sufficient liquid assets from the operational business to fund an average growth of more than 20%. Meanwhile, Amazon has a market capitalization of more than USD 300 billion. To explain this situation, the components of financial success have to be reviewed more comprehensively.

Traditionally, in the German culture, a company's profit resulting from business operations over one period is paramount in financial management. In recent years, this one-dimensional view has been supplemented by working capital, i.e. management of accounts receivables, inventories and accounts payable. In the German-speaking area too, Cash Flow, a more comprehensive measure of success compared to profit, is increasingly used to analyse business operations.

However, many industries had to realise that today's healthy operating cash flow does not guarantee future entrepreneurial survival. Nokia is just one example where the good results of the past came to an abrupt end in the near future. We are at the beginning of the fourth industrial revolution and investments into the future need to address the ever-accelerating technological change. For us, financial success therefore always includes a time long-term component, which must be anchored in the company's incentive and reporting systems.

In our view, financing represents the final essential dimension of financial management. It has to support achieving the company's strategic goals and allow affordable access to the necessary liquidity.

These statements clearly show that we see a close connection between the company's strategic and financial management. The financial management is responsible for contributing to the implementation of the strategy. In this process, the company's organization needs to be taken into account. Organization theory states that the structure of the company follows the corporate strategy. The financial management follows the strategy and the structure. A profit center organization requires a different financial management than a functional organization. Financial responsibilities need to be defined with a view to the success of the entire company in order to enable the implementation of the corporate strategy. In a rapidly changing world, internal distributional conflicts must be avoided and the company's outward orientation strengthened. This is our key strength, thanks to our extensive project experience in various industries.

Consultant services

  • Joint development and implementation of value-based controlling concepts
  • Joint conception of financial control principles for large international corporations (e.g. target figures of various cost and profit centers or bases of internal transfer prices).
  • Joint definition and implementation of internal incentive systems aiming to achieve a long-term sustainable external orientation of the company.

SGMI Open Programs: Seminars

Masters and Diplomas

Publications

Thorsten Truijens, Axel Neumann-Giesen, Jürgen Weber

Organisationsform Shared Service Center: Herausforderungen an das Controlling

to the book

Thorsten Truijens

Legenden der Profit Center Organisation

to the book

Head

Thorsten Truijens, Dr. oec. HSG, MBA
Director of the Center for Financial Management at SGMI Management Institute St. Gallen

After studying in Germany, the US and in Switzerland, Thorsten Truijens started his career in the controlling department of a multinational automotive company before working for a consulting firm. As director of the Center for Financial Management at SGMI Management Institute St. Gallen the focus is on international corporations that value and count on profound knowledge of the continental European and the Anglo-American view on financial management and highly appreciate the practical approach. Furthermore, Thorsten Truijens has repeatedly presented lectures at various prominent international universities such as Harvard Business School on the topic of financial management. He also won numerous Best Teacher Awards.

His main topics include:

  • Value-based Financial Management
  • Performance Measurement Systems
  • Internal Management Systems
  • Balanced Scorecard

Head

Thorsten Truijens
Dr. oec. HSG

Director of the Center for Financial Management at SGMI Management Institute St. Gallen

Further information

+41 71 223 50 30

Navigation
Kontakt Kontakt +41 71 223 50 30 ENDE Switch to English

Das Center for Financial Management hat das explizite Ziel, die Grundlagen des finanziellen Managements umfassend und anwendungsorientiert zum Nutzen des Kunden anzuwenden. Konkrete Analyse- und Entscheidungswerkzeuge stehen im Vordergrund der Beratungs- und Weiterbildungsarbeit. Oberstes Ziel ist die langfristige sowie nachhaltige Unternehmenswertsteigerung durch die Implementation kundenspezifischer Lösungen. Nach der gemeinsamen Erarbeitung einer zukunftsgerichteten und aussenorientierten finanziellen Unternehmenssteuerung helfen unsere Experten bei der Umsetzung durch hierarchiegerechte Führungskräftetrainings und binden die Mitarbeiter in das erarbeitete Konzept ein.

Title

Finanzielles Management umfasst in der Sichtweise des Center for Financial Management weitaus mehr als die Fokussierung des Unternehmens auf den Gewinn. Umsatz- und Kostenmanagement sind sicherlich eine wesentliche Dimension des finanziellen Managements. Aber der Erfolg vieler Unternehmen lässt sich nicht ausschliesslich mit dem Blick auf die Erfolgsrechnung erklären. Ein Unternehmen wie Amazon erwirtschaftet seit der Gründung keinen nennenswerten Gewinn, generiert aber dennoch genügend liquide Mittel aus dem operativen Geschäft, um ein durchschnittliches Wachstum von mehr als 20% zu finanzieren und weist zwischenzeitlich eine Börsenkapitalisierung von mehr als USD 300 Milliarden auf. Für eine Erklärung dieser Situation ist ein umfassenderer Blick auf die Bestandteile des finanziellen Erfolgs notwendig.

Traditionell steht im deutschen Kulturraum der Gewinn eines Unternehmens als Ergebnis des operativen Geschäfts einer Periode im Vordergrund des finanziellen Managements. In den letzten Jahren wurde diese eindimensionale Betrachtung durch den Einbezug des Working Capitals, d.h. des Managements von Debitoren, Vorräten und Kreditoren, ergänzt. Cash Flow, als eine gegenüber dem Gewinn umfassendere Erfolgsgrösse, wird zusehends auch im deutschen Sprachraum zur Analyse des operativen Geschäfts eingesetzt.

Allerdings wird in vielen Branchen immer deutlicher, dass ein gesunder betrieblicher Cash Flow heute nicht unbedingt das unternehmerische Überleben morgen garantieren kann. Nokia ist nur ein Beispiel, bei dem das gute Ergebnis der Vergangenheit ein abruptes Ende in der nahen Zukunft fand. Wir befinden uns am Beginn der vierten industriellen Revolution und Investitionen in die Zukunft müssen den immer schneller werdenden technologischen Wandel adressieren. Finanzieller Erfolg hat für uns daher immer eine zeitlich langfristige Komponente, welcher in den Anreiz- und Berichtssystemen des Unternehmens verankert werden muss.

Die Finanzierung bildet für uns die letzte wesentliche Dimension des finanziellen Managements ab. Sie muss die Erreichung der strategischen Ziele des Unternehmens unterstützen und einen kostengünstigen Zugang zur notwendigen Liquidität ermöglichen.

Aus diesen Ausführungen wird klar, dass wir einen engen Zusammenhang zwischen dem strategischen und dem finanziellen Management des Unternehmens sehen. Das finanzielle Management steht in der Verantwortung, einen Beitrag zur Umsetzung der Strategie zu leisten. Dabei ist die Organisation des Unternehmens zu berücksichtigen. Die Struktur des Unternehmens folgt der Unternehmensstrategie, heisst es in der Organisationslehre. Das finanzielle Management folgt der Strategie und der Struktur. Eine Profit Center Organisation bedarf einer anderen finanziellen Führung als eine funktionale Organisation. Finanzielle Verantwortlichkeiten müssen mit dem Blick auf den Erfolg des Gesamtunternehmens definiert werden, um die Umsetzung der Unternehmensstrategie zu ermöglichen. In einer sich schnell wandelnden Welt müssen interne Verteilungskämpfe vermieden werden und die Aussenorientierung des Unternehmens gestärkt werden. Hier sehen wir durch unsere langjährige Projekterfahrung in verschiedensten Branchen unsere Stärke.

Beratungsdienstleistungen

  • Gemeinsame Erarbeitung und Umsetzung wertorientierter Controlling-Konzepte.
  • Gemeinsame Konzeption finanzieller Steuerungsgrundlagen für internationale Grosskonzerne (z.B. Zielgrössen verschiedener Kosten- und Profitcenter oder Grundlagen der internen Verrechnungspreise).
  • Gemeinsame Definition und Umsetzung innerbetrieblicher Anreizsysteme mit dem Ziel einer langfristigen nachhaltigen Aussenorientierung des Unternehmens.

Center for Financial Management: Seminare

SGMI Open Programs: Seminare

Master und Diplome

Publikationen

Thorsten Truijens, Axel Neumann-Giesen, Jürgen Weber

Organisationsform Shared Service Center: Herausforderungen an das Controlling

Zum Buch

Thorsten Truijens

Legenden der Profit Center Organisation

Zum Buch

Leitung

Thorsten Truijens, Dr. oec. HSG, MBA
Direktor des Center for Financial Management am SGMI Management Institut St. Gallen

Nach dem Studium in Deutschland, in den U.S.A. sowie in der Schweiz hat Thorsten Truijens seine Karriere im Controlling eines multinationalen Automobilunternehmens begonnen und in einem Beratungsunternehmen fortgesetzt. Als Direktor des Center for Financial Mananagement am SGMI Management Institut St. Gallen stehen v.a. internationale Konzerne im Fokus, die auf Vertrautheit mit der kontinentaleuropäischen wie auch der anglo-amerikanischen Sichtweise des finanziellen Managements zählen und Praxisorientiertheit schätzen. Darüber hinaus hat Thorsten Truijens immer wieder an verschiedenen, international führenden Universitäten wie der Harvard Business School Vorlesungen zum Thema finanzielle Führung gehalten und zahlreiche Best Teacher Awards gewonnen.

Seine Themenschwerpunkte sind:

  • Wertorientierte finanzielle Führung
  • Performance Measurement Systeme
  • Innerbetriebliche Steuerungssysteme
  • Balanced Scorecard

Leitung

Thorsten Truijens
Dr. oec. HSG
MBA

Direktor des Center for Financial Management am SGMI Management Institut St. Gallen

Information und Beratung

+41 71 223 50 30