Navigation
Contact Contact +41 71 223 50 30 DEEN zu Deutsch wechseln

Start-ups follow their own laws - and therefore managing such a business requires a certain set of skills. On the one hand, there is a whole range of business disciplines to be mastered: Developing and implementing strategies, designing products and services, developing business plans as well as successfully implementing them, structuring and organizing your financing, attracting and retaining employees, and many more. On the other hand, young companies often struggle with scarce resources such as insufficient capital, being understaffed and a lack of experience. Adding to this, many founders greatly underestimate the challenges they will have to face when managing a start-up. Therefore, you have to find a way to turn your business idea into a market success as efficiently and quickly as possible.

The lack of experience in how to build and manage a company paired with the small margin for error a start-up is allowed to, is a dilemma many start-ups and their founders are faced with. The reason for this low tolerance for mistakes are mainly scarce resources, particularly capital. Through a structured and focused approach, and with the help of experienced specialists, you can take determined and condensed actions in important areas such as:

Market Analysis
Is there actually a market for your products or services? Especially for disruptive business models, this question is not always easy to answer. But even if a market exists or can be created, the introduction often takes much longer than planned or secretly hoped. Furthermore, time-to-market is always delayed and devours much more resources than planned. In recent years, this situation has even intensified. The markets have become more transparent, trade barriers have been reduced, and the increasing global networking has lead to a qiucker diminishing of competitive advantage. Also, the world has not been waiting for most of the new business ideas.

Strategy and Business Model
A clear strategy and a business model focusing on customer benefit are key - they need to be clear, simple and comprehensible. When planning to enter a market with a new product or service, there are usually not plenty of options to choose from. It is therefore necessary to extract, define and implement the best option available.

Business Plan
Formulating and implementing a business plan is a matter of significant importance. Too often, this instrument is only seen as a way to raise capital, which is only part of the truth. The business plan should be the red thread and a constant guidance for everything that happens on the business front. Also, it is primarily created for the company and not for others. Understandably, the plan is often drafted with the rose-colored glasses on - and with that same optimism, many expect a positive outcome in no time. But most of the time it turns out differently than expected and many are not prepared for this and are caught on the wrong foot. In this context, thinking in scenarios becomes indispensable – unfortunately, it is often neglected in practice.

Financing
Adequate financing is key. What is more important for a young company? Having the right people on board or being adequately financed? The best case would probably be to have both. The main drivers of start-ups are clearly the founders, who are pushing the project inspired by an idea or vision. But without sufficient funding, this project will always remain an idea or vision. Therefore, structuring the appropriate financing solution is a key factor in the development of a start-up company. The following are to be defined:

  • Defining the amount to be financed with particular attention to elements such as: working capital, quantification of free cash flow, setting the financing period
  • Selecting the appropriate financing instrument (equity, borrowed capital, mezzanine financing), if there is a choice at all and the instruments are not stipulated beforehand
  • Valuating the company and the transfered shares. This can be difficult for a company without assets and/or turnover.

Human Resources and Compensation
Rather sooner than later, the founders will need personnel support, i.e. other employees and managers. Besides their technical qualifications, these new employees should also bring entrepreneurial spirit and personality. Working in a start-up is intensive and demanding, which requires a corresponding employee profile - otherwise it will not work out in the long run. Especially people who can not work with uncertainty and pressure should not be hired for such an undertaking. For those who are suitable, compensation must be adequate and attractive and these employees and managers must be allowed to share in success. To find the best solution, it is best to test different models.

Consulting Services

  • Critically reviewing the market opportunities of the product or services resp. the case/business model. Carrying out a detailed SWOT analysis with specific recommendations for action, if necessary with the help of external industry experts.
  • Developing and implementing a tailor-made strategy, which takes account of product-specific characteristics and market conditions.
  • Formulating a business plan including implementation support. We can help you by defining a dash board, deciding on implementation measures and responsibilities as well as designing appropriate management tools.
  • Structuring suitable financing solutions and searching potential investors. The global SGMI network provides fast and efficient access to suitable institutional and private investors. Furthermore, we support you with our know-how and experience during the negotiations.
  • Searching and selecting suitable employees/managers and setting up attractive participation models. If required, we can provide managers as an interim manager at your start-up.

 

Head

Chris Stern, Dr., MBA
Director of the Center for Start-up-Management at SGMI Management Institute St. Gallen

Chris Stern is an entrepreneurial pragmatist with a highly practial approach to business adiminstration. As an expert consultant for international business strategies he advises companies in the US and Europe achieving sustainable market positions on the background of his extensive management and board experience. Chris Stern holds a Master of Business Administration of the Graduate School of Business Administration Zurich as well as a Doctorate of Business Administration (DBA) of Trinity College & University. He is a senior lecturer and project director at the SGMI Institute of Management St. Gallen and for over two decades has successfully directed a wide range of open seminars, company-specific courses, and consulting projects on:

  • Start-up-Management
  • Business Model Design
  • Digital Business Models
  • Strategic Management
  • Global Business
  • Marketing and Sales Management

Mr. Stern’s list of publications include two practical books: ‚Business is Simple' and ‚Total Customer Focus'. Chris Stern is a passionate aviator with an active airline transport pilot license and engaged in a number of aviation ventures.

Head

Chris Stern
Dr., MBA

Director of the Center for Start-up-Management at SGMI Management Institute St. Gallen

Further information

+41 71 223 50 30

Navigation
Kontakt Kontakt +41 71 223 50 30 ENDE Switch to English

Start-ups folgen eigenen Gesetzmässigkeiten. Das Management derartiger Organisationen bedarf entsprechend spezifischer Fähigkeiten. Auf der einen Seite gilt es, sämtliche betriebswirtschaftliche Disziplinen zu beherrschen: Strategien entwickeln und umsetzen, Produkte und Dienstleistungen entwerfen, Business Pläne erarbeiten und erfolgreich implementieren, die Finanzierung strukturieren und organisieren, Mitarbeiter gewinnen und halten u.a. Auf der anderen Seite kämpfen solch junge Unternehmen oft mit knappen Ressourcen wie nicht ausreichendes Kapital, zu wenig Personal und mangelnder Erfahrung. Viele Gründer unterschätzen die Herausforderungen, die da auf sie zukommen, zudem meist gewaltig. Es gilt einen Ansatz zu finden, der den Weg von der Geschäftsidee bis hin zum Markterfolg verkürzt und so effizient wie möglich gestaltet.

Ein Dilemma in dem Start-up Unternehmen und Gründer oft stecken: die einerseits mangelnde Erfahrung, wie man ein Unternehmen aufbaut respektive führt und die andererseits geringen Fehlertoleranz, die dem Unternehmen zugestanden wird. Da Ressourcen wie v.a. Kapital meist knapp sind, können sich Start-up Unternehmen zudem nicht allzu viele Fehler erlauben. Eine strukturierte und fokussierte Vorgehensweise, unter Bezug erfahrener auch externer Spezialisten, ermöglicht ein zielstrebiges und verdichtetes Handeln in wichtigen Themenfeldern wie:

Marktanalyse
Existiert für das Produkt oder die Dienstleistungen tatsächlich ein Markt? Besonders bei disruptiven Geschäftsmodellen nicht immer ganz einfach zu beantworten. Aber auch wenn ein Markt vorhanden ist oder geschaffen werden kann, dauert die Einführung meist viel länger als geplant oder insgeheim erhofft. Time-to-market verzögert sich immer und verschlingt mehr Ressourcen als einem oft lieb ist. Dies hat sich in den letzten Jahren weiter verschärft. Die Märkte sind transparenter geworden, Handelshemmnisse wurden abgebaut und die zunehmend globale Vernetzung relativiert Wettbewerbsvorteile sehr schnell. Auch hat die Welt auf die meisten neuen Geschäftsideen nicht gewartet.

Strategie, Geschäftsmodell
Es braucht eine griffige Strategie, ein auf den Kundennutzen ausgerichtetes Geschäftsmodell - klar, einfach und nachvollziehbar. Bei geplantem Markteintritt mit einem neuen Produkt oder einer neuen Dienstleistung reduzieren sich die Optionen meist auf ein paar wenige. Diese gilt es herauszuschälen, zu definieren und umzusetzen.

Business Plan
Grosse Bedeutung kommt dem Aufsetzen und fokussierten Umsetzen des Business Plans zu. Zu oft wird dieses Instrument mit einem Kapitalbeschaffungs-Tool gleichgesetzt, was nur einem Teil der Wahrheit entspricht. Der Business Plan stellt den roten Faden und die konstante Orientierungshilfe dar, für alles was unternehmerisch geschieht und wird primär für sich und nicht für andere erstellt. Aus verständlichen Gründen oft mit der rosaroten Brille verfasst, geht man optimistisch zu Werke, erwartet einen positiven Ausgang und das noch schnell. Meist kommt es aber anders als man denkt und darauf sind vielen nicht vorbereitet und werden auf dem falschen Fuss erwischt. Das Denken in Szenarien wird da unabdingbar, wird in der Praxis aber viel zu oft vernachlässigt.

Finanzierung
Eine Schlüsselrolle kommt der adäquaten Finanzierung zu. Man kann sich streiten, ob es für ein junges Unternehmen wichtiger ist, die richtigen Leute an Bord zu haben oder ausreichend finanziert zu sein: am besten ist wohl beides. Klar sind die Treiber eines Start-ups der oder die Gründer, der oder die von einer Idee oder Vision beseelt das Projekt anschieben. Aber ohne ausreichende Finanzierung wird es bei einer Idee oder Vision bleiben. Das Strukturieren der passenden Finanzierungslösung ist ein zentraler Erfolgsfaktor auf dem Entwicklungspfad eines Start-up Unternehmens. Zu definieren sind u.a.:

  • Bestimmung des zu finanzierenden Betrags mit besonderem Augenmerk auf Elemente wie: Working Capital, Quantifizierung des Free Cash Flow, Festlegen der Finanzierungsperiode
  • Wahl des passenden Finanzierungsinstruments (Eigenkapital, Fremdkapital, Mezzanine-Finanzierung), sofern es sich überhaupt um eine Wahl handelt und dies nicht von der anderen Seite vorgegeben wird
  • Bewertung des Unternehmens und der abzutretenden Anteile, was bei einem Unternehmen ohne Vermögenswerte und/oder noch ohne Umsatz schwierig sein kann.

Human Resources, Kompensation
Sehr schnell werden die Gründer personelle Unterstützung, also weitere Mitarbeiter und Führungskräfte, benötigen. Diese sollten nebst technischen Qualifikationen auch Unternehmergeist und Persönlichkeit mitbringen. In einem Start-up täglich intensivst zu arbeiten erfordert ein entsprechendes Mitarbeiterprofil, ansonsten wird das auf die Dauer nicht klappen. Wer nicht mit Unsicherheit und Druck arbeiten kann, der sollte nicht für ein derartiges Unterfangen angeheuert werden. Auf der anderen Seite muss die Kompensation adäquat und attraktiv sein und diese Mitarbeiter und Führungskräfte ordentlich am Erfolg partizipieren lassen. Dazu gilt es, unterschiedliche Modelle zu prüfen.

Beratungsdienstleistungen

  • Kritisches Überprüfen der Marktchancen des Produktes oder der Dienstleistungen resp. des Cases / Geschäftsmodells. Erstellen einer detaillierten SWOT-Analyse mit konkreten Handlungsempfehlungen, wo notwendig unter Bezug zusätzlicher externer Branchen-Experten.
  • Erarbeiten und Aufsetzen einer massgeschneiderten Strategie, welche den produktspezifischen Eigenheiten und Marktgegebenheiten Rechnung trägt.
  • Aufsetzen eines Business Planes inkl. Umsetzungsbegleitung, was unter anderem die Definition eines Dash Boards, das Festlegen von Umsetzungsmassnahmen und -verantwortlichkeiten anbelangt und nicht zuletzt auch das Konzipieren entsprechender Führungsinstrumente bedeutet.
  • Strukturieren von passenden Finanzierungslösungen und Suche von potentiellen Investoren. Das weltweite SGMI Netzwerk ermöglicht einen schnellen und effizienten Zugriff auf passende institutionelle wie private Investoren. Ferner Unterstützung mit Know-how und Erfahrung bei den Verhandlungen.
  • Suche und Auswahl von passenden Mitarbeitern / Führungskräften und Aufsetzen von attraktiven Beteiligungsmodellen. Bei Bedarf Bereitstellen von Führungskräften als Interim-Manager.

 

Leitung

Romed Guntern, lic.oec.HSG et lic.iur.HSG
Geschäftsführender Direktor des SGMI Management Instituts St. Gallen und Direktor des Center for Start-up-Management

Romed Guntern studierte an der Universität St. Gallen (HSG) und erwarb die Lizenziate der Wirtschaftswissenschaften (lic.oec.) und der Rechtswissenschaften (lic.iur.). Er war wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Institut für Finanzwissenschaft und Finanzrecht der Universität St. Gallen und Assistent von Prof. Dr. Klaus Vallender.

Als langjähriger CEO entwickelte er das SGMI Management Institut St. Gallen zu einer der renommiertesten, international tätigen Business School aus dem deutschsprachigen Raum. Herr Guntern ist Vizepräsident der St. Gallen Group und des St. Galler Forschungsverbundes sowie Mitbegründer zahlreicher Start-ups. Als unternehmerischer Pragmatiker sitzt er im Verwaltungs-, Aufsichtsrat diverser Unternehmen.

Mit seiner 20-jährigen Dozenten- und Moderationserfahrung bei zahlreichen renommierten Institutionen und Corporate Universities sowie an Tagungen und Kongressen zählt er zu den renommiertesten Spezialisten für Unternehmensführung und Strategisches Management. Über die Jahre schulte er mehrere Tausend Executives.

Als Berater des Top- und Executive Managements betreut er namhafte in- und ausländische Unternehmen, Großkonzerne sowie erfolgreiche Nischenplayer aus dem Mittelstand und Start-ups. Aus einer Vielzahl von Beratungsprojekten verfügt er über einschlägige Erfahrungen in den Bereichen:

  • Vision, Mission, Werte, Oberste Ziele
  • Group-, Holding-, Unternehmens-, Geschäftsfeld- und Funktionalstrategien
  • Geschäftsmodell-Design
  • Wachstums-Dynamik
  • Hochleistungs-Organisation
  • Gewinn- und Wertsteigerung
  • M&A und Start-up-Management

Leitung

Romed Guntern
lic.oec.HSG et lic.iur.HSG

Geschäftsführender Direktor des SGMI Management Instituts St. Gallen und Direktor des Center for Start-up-Management

Information und Beratung

+41 71 223 50 30