Navigation
Contact Contact +41 71 223 50 30 DEEN zu Deutsch wechseln

What is value creation? How can a corporate governance be established to assure a sustainable value creation? How can a company legitimize its long-term existence?

Different perspectives must be considered to promote the right governance framework for sustainable value-creation in the long run. By developing an “ownership strategy” which defines a common understanding of “success”, a company can promote the right behavior and foster its culture while also enabling an efficient capital management.

A successful value creation is based on three pillars: An aligned performance measurement approach, a properly designed compensation system and efficient steering processes. Within these boundaries, decisions on strategic planning, investments and financial operations as well as leadership can be made.

First, given a common understanding of success is established, it should be defined how a company measures performance. It is essential to not only focus on the level of performance but, more importantly, to determine the quality of performance to be measured. This process helps to understand where the company creates an added value not only for its shareholders, but also for its clients, employees and other stakeholders. When we know what success is and how we can measure the required performance to achieve it, it can be defined how success shall be compensated for and steered.

Secondly, within a value sharing guidance, i.e. how value is split among shareholders and other stakeholders, employees shall be compensated according to the performance of the company. By setting the right incentives, employees can be attracted, motivated and retained. While an accurate compensation system may promote performance and foster accountability, it remains a challenging leadership task to make employees understand their impact on value creation. Compensation and leadership both have a great influence on behavior and culture, which ultimately create the self-understanding of a company.

Thirdly, the definition of a framework for decision-making forms a well-founded steering within the company’s checks and balances. Typically, steering initiatives and ultimately, decisions in the corporate environment are based on quantitative and potentially qualitative performance indicators (or KPIs). The results of an individual initiative will also be reviewed in terms of the KPIs set. Backed by robust checks and balances, any operative and implementing actions are guided by those indicators and eventually intended to result in an efficient capital allocation.

Taken together, the understanding of “success” and the accordingly set up performance measurement approach serve as a necessary foundation for developing an integrated compensation system and for taking the right steering-direction. At the same time, managing the interaction of these elements ultimately facilitates successful value creation.

Consulting Services

  • Board Advisory
  • Governance Structure and Processes
  • Owner Strategy
  • Compensation Philosophy and Strategy
  • Variable Compensation Design including Short- and Long-Term Incentives
  • Succession
  • Regulatory Compliance and Related Services
  • Value-based Management
  • Target Setting and Parametrization
  • Performance Management
  • Pay-for-Sustainability
  • IPO Related Services
  • Compensation Disclosure and Stakeholder Communication

Publications

Dr. Stephan Hostettler, Herrmann J. Stern

Das Value Cockpit

to the book

Dr. Stephan Hostettler

Managersaläre

to the book

Dr. Hanna Hummel

Vergütungsstrukturen und Risikoverhalten von Banken vor dem Hintergrund regulatorischer Bedingungen

to the book

Head

Dr. Stephan Hostettler, lic.oec.HSG
Director of the Center for Governance & Compensation at SGMI Management Institute St. Gallen

Dr. Stephan Hostettler is the founder and managing partner of HCM International and has been active as an entrepreneur and consultant in Switzerland, the US, Europe and other regions since 2002. Prior to this, he worked for a major Swiss bank in the area of financial analysis and as a consultant on corporate finance and corporate governance in the US. His teaching activities at the University of St. Gallen, his research as well as publications and commentaries have made him an expert and thought leader in the topics of corporate governance, value-based management and executive compensation. As part of his consulting practice, he has advised more than 350 companies on the implementation of concrete recommendations. Stephan Hostettler has also become a renowned guest speaker at various conferences, including the TED Talks. He holds a doctorate degree in finance from the University of St. Gallen. Through his numerous consulting projects, he gained relevant experiences in the following areas: 

  • Board Advisory
  • Governance Structure and Processes
  • Owner Strategy
  • Succession
  • Value-based Management
  • Target Setting and Parametrization
  • Performance Management
  • Compensation Disclosure and Stakeholder Communication

Dr. Hanna Hummel, M.A.HSG
Co-Director of the Center for Governance & Compensation at SGMI Management Institute St. Gallen

Dr. Hanna Hummel is a manager at HCM International and has eight years’ experience in compensation, governance and compliance advisory with a special focus on financial companies. Her experience covers reviewing and revising remuneration systems at different levels regarding strategic alignment and incentive effects as well as regulatory compliance. Hanna Hummel graduated from University of St. Gallen as Master of Arts in Banking & Finance. She completed her doctoral study as Dr. rer. oek. at University of Wuppertal on the question of how compensation structures and bank risk are related in the regulatory context. Through her consulting projects, she gained relevant experiences in the following areas:

  • Board Advisory
  • Regulatory Compliance
  • Governance Structure and Processes
  • Risk-based Banking
  • Compensation Philosophy and Strategy
  • Variable Compensation Design including Short- and Long-Term Incentives

Head

Stephan Hostettler
Dr. oec. HSG

Director of the Center for Governance & Compensation at SGMI Management Institute St. Gallen

Dr. Hanna Hummel
M.A. HSG

Co-Director of the Center for Governance & Compensation at SGMI Management Institute St. Gallen

Further information

+41 71 223 50 30

Navigation
Kontakt Kontakt +41 71 223 50 30 ENDE Switch to English

Was ist Wertschaffung? Welche Voraussetzungen müssen durch die Corporate Governance geschaffen werden, um eine nachhaltige Wertschaffung zu ermöglichen?

Zur Sicherstellung der richtigen Rahmenbedingungen für die langfristige Wertschaffung gilt es, verschiedene Perspektiven zu berücksichtigen. Durch die Entwicklung einer sogenannten «Eigentümerstrategie» wird ein gemeinsames Verständnis von «Erfolg» in einem Unternehmen etabliert, welches einerseits das richtige Verhalten und die Unternehmenskultur fördert und zugleich eine effiziente Kapitalallokation bewerkstelligt.

Dabei basiert eine erfolgreiche Wertschaffung auf drei Eckpfeilern: Ein abgestimmter Performance-Measurement-Ansatz, ein angemessenes Vergütungssystem sowie effektive Steuerungsprozesse. Innerhalb dieses Rahmens können Entscheidungen bezüglich strategischer Planung, Investitionen und Führung getätigt werden.

Nachdem ein gemeinsames Verständnis von «Erfolg» geschaffen wurde, sollte in einem ersten Schritt festgelegt werden, wie ein Unternehmen die Performance misst, die zum Erreichen des Erfolges erforderlich ist. Dabei ist nicht nur die Höhe, sondern vor allem auch die Qualität des Erfolges wesentlich. Dieser Prozess hilft zu verstehen, wo das Unternehmen einen Mehrwert schafft – nicht nur für seine Aktionäre, sondern auch für Kunden, Mitarbeitende und andere Anspruchsgruppen. Wenn einmal erkannt wurde, was Erfolg ist und wie die dafür benötigte Performance gemessen wird, kann darauf aufbauend danach vergütet und gesteuert werden.

Als zweites wird im Rahmen eines «Value Sharing» Ansatzes, der die Aufteilung des geschaffenen Wertes unter verschiedenen Anspruchsgruppen, wie z.B. Aktionären, Mitarbeitenden und dem Unternehmen selbst, festgelegt, wie die Mitarbeitenden gemäss der Performance des Unternehmens vergütet werden. Durch das Setzen der richtigen Anreize können Mitarbeitende gewonnen, motiviert und ans Unternehmen gebunden werden. Während ein angemessenes Vergütungssystem zwar die Performance und Verantwortlichkeit fördern kann, bleibt es eine herausfordernde Führungsaufgabe, den Mitarbeitenden ihren Einfluss auf die Wertschaffung aufzuzeigen. Sowohl Vergütung als auch Führung haben einen wesentlichen Einfluss auf das Verhalten und die Unternehmenskultur, die letztlich das Selbstverständnis eines Unternehmens ausmachen.

Der dritte Eckpfeiler besteht in der Vorgabe eines Entscheidungsrahmens für die fundierte Steuerung des Unternehmens. Typischerweise basieren Entscheidungen im Unternehmensumfeld auf quantitativen und potenziell qualitativen Leistungsindikatoren (oder KPIs). Auch die Ergebnisse einer Investition oder eines Projektes werden im Hinblick auf die festgelegten KPIs überprüft. Gestützt auf solide Kontrollmechanismen werden alle operativen Massnahmen und Implementierungsaufgaben von diesen Indikatoren geleitet und zielen schliesslich auf die effiziente Kapitalallokation ab.

Zusammengenommen dient das Verständnis von «Erfolg» und der entsprechend eingerichtete Ansatz zur Performancemessung als notwendige Grundlagen für die Entwicklung eines integrierten Vergütungssystems sowie für die Kontroll- und Steuerungsprozesse. Gleichzeitig fördert das Management der Interaktionen dieser Eckpfeiler eine erfolgreiche Wertschaffung.

Beratungsdienstleistungen

  • Beratung des Verwaltungsrats
  • Governancestrukturen und -prozesse
  • Eigentümerstrategie
  • Vergütungsphilosophie und -strategie
  • Design der variablen Vergütung inklusive kurz- und langfristiger Anreizpläne
  • Nachfolgeplanung
  • Regulatorische Compliance und ähnliche Dienstleistungen
  • Wertbasiertes Management
  • Zielsetzung und Parametrisierung in der variablen Vergütung
  • Performancemanagement
  • Pay-for-Sustainability
  • Mit Börsengängen verbundene Dienstleistungen
  • Vergütungsoffenlegung und Kommunikation mit Anspruchsgruppen

Publikationen

Dr. Stephan Hostettler, Herrmann J. Stern

Das Value Cockpit

Zum Buch

Dr. Stephan Hostettler

Managersaläre

Zum Buch

Dr. Hanna Hummel

Vergütungsstrukturen und Risikoverhalten von Banken vor dem Hintergrund regulatorischer Bedingungen

Zum Buch

Leitung

Dr. Stephan Hostettler, lic.oec.HSG
Direktor des Center for Governance & Compensation am SGMI Management Institut St. Gallen

Dr. Stephan Hostettler ist Gründer und Managing Partner von HCM International Ltd. und ist seit 2002 als Unternehmer und Berater in der Schweiz, den USA, Europa und weiteren Regionen tätig. Davor arbeitete er für eine Schweizer Grossbank im Bereich der Finanzanalyse und als Berater für Corporate Finance und Corporate Governance in den USA. Durch seine Lehrtätigkeiten an der Universität St. Gallen (HSG), seiner Forschungsaktivitäten und Publikationen ist er als Experte und Vordenker im Bereich der Corporate Governance, wertbasiertem Management und der Managementvergütung bekannt. Als Teil seiner Beratungspraxis hat er mehr als 350 Unternehmen bezüglich der Implementierung von konkreten Empfehlungen beraten. Stephan Hostettler ist ebenfalls ein renommierter Gastreferent an verschiedensten Konferenzen, inklusive TED Talks. Er hält einen Doktortitel der Universität St. Gallen (HSG) in Finance. Durch seine zahlreichen Beratungsprojekte sammelte er Erfahrung in den folgenden Bereichen:

  • Beratung des Verwaltungsrats
  • Governance Strukturen und Prozesse
  • Eigentümerstrategie
  • Nachfolgeplanung
  • Wertbasiertes Management
  • Zielsetzung und Parametrisierung in der variablen Vergütung
  • Performancemanagement
  • Vergütungsoffenlegung und Kommunikation mit Anspruchsgruppen

Dr. Hanna Hummel, M.A.HSG
Co-Direktorin des Center for Governance & Compensation am SGMI Management Institut St. Gallen

Dr. Hanna Hummel ist Manager bei HCM International und berät seit über acht Jahren Unternehmen im Bereich Vergütung, Governance und Compliance mit einem spezifischen Fokus auf die Finanzdienstleistungsbranche. Ihre Erfahrung umfasst das Überprüfen und Überarbeiten von Vergütungssystemen auf verschiedenen Ebenen bezüglich der strategischen Ausrichtung und Anreizwirkungen sowie regulatorischer Compliance. Hanna Hummel machte ihren Abschluss an der Universität St. Gallen (HSG) mit einem Master of Arts in Banking & Finance. Zudem promovierte sie als Dr.rer.oek. an der Universität Wuppertal zum Zusammenhang von Vergütungsstrukturen und Bankenrisiko im regulatorischen Kontext. Durch ihre Beratungsprojekte sammelte sie relevante Erfahrung in den folgenden Bereichen:

  • Beratung des Verwaltungsrats
  • Regulatorische Compliance
  • Governancestrukturen und -prozesse
  • Risikobasiertes Banking
  • Vergütungsphilosophie und -strategie
  • Design der variablen Vergütung inklusive kurz- und langfristiger Anreizpläne

Leitung

Stephan Hostettler
Dr. oec. HSG

Direktor des Center for Governance & Compensation am SGMI Management Institut St. Gallen

Dr. Hanna Hummel
M.A. HSG

Co-Direktorin des Center for Governance & Compensation am SGMI Management Institut St. Gallen

Information und Beratung

+41 71 223 50 30