Navigation
Contact Contact +41 71 223 50 30 DEEN zu Deutsch wechseln

"Tactics is knowing what to do when there is something to do. Strategy is knowing what to do when there is nothing to do." This is what Savielly Grigorievitsch Tartakower said about tactics and strategy. In the 20's of the last century, the son of an Austrian father and a Polish mother was one of the world’s best chess players. The grandmaster wrote books like "The Hypermodern Game of Chess" or "Neoromantisches Schach", which are both considered classics by experts. Even 50 years after his death, aphorisms like "The second best move is often the only right move" are still famous with chess players. Tartakow, who was a keenly experimental player, used to comment his private games with these and similar sayings, called Tartakowerisms.

The quote you read at the beginning of this article was coined from one of his games and is not only valid on the chess board. Savielly Tartakower pointedly stresses out the difference between tactics and strategy. Tactics determines the next move, strategy the course of the game. Economically speaking, this means operative versus strategic planning.

The "St. Gallen Center for Strategic Management" offers comprehensive services on this topic. Consulting services, targeted seminars, and in-house programs focus on the relevant points of strategic thinking and acting.

The higher your hierarchical level, the more important is the ability to plan in the long term. While project managers focus on the next milestone ahead, entrepreneurs envision the years to come. This is the only way to detect new trends, develop businesses lines, and gain an edge over competitors. The day-to-day business is managed by other, specifically recruited, executives. That is exactly how it is meant to be. Strategies always arise in the overall context. However, they should be isolated from constricting internal processes. So, Savielly Tartakower was right: "Strategy is knowing what to do when there is nothing to do."

Title

Consulting Services

  • Vision, Mission, Values, Main Objectives
  • Development/Review of corporate, business and functional strategies 
  • Business Model Design
  • Increasing Growth Momentum
  • Accretion 
  • Reorganization
  • Restructuring
  • Corporate Succession

SGMI Open Programs: Seminars

Masters and Diplomas

Head

Romed Guntern, lic.oec. HSG et lic.iur. HSG
Chief Executive Officer of the SGMI Institute of Management St. Gallen and Director of the Center for Strategic Management

Romed Guntern studied at the University of St. Gallen (HSG) and completed his licentiate in economics (lic.oec.) and law (lic.iur.). He was a scientific officer at the institute for finance and fiscal law of the University of St. Gallen and the assistant of Prof. Dr. Klaus Vallender.

As longtime CEO, he established the SGMI Institute of Management St. Gallen as one of the most renowned, international business schools in the German-speaking countries. Mr. Guntern is vice president of the St. Gallen Group and the Research Group St. Gallen as well as co-founder of numerous start-ups. As entrepreneurial pragmatist, he sits on the board of directors and the supervisory board of various companies.

He is one of the most renowned specialists in corporate and strategic management, having held lectures and seminars at corporate universities and conferences for more than 20 years. Furthermore, he is a member of administrative and supervisory boards of various companies.

He advises top and executive managers working for renowned domestic and foreign companies, corporations as well as successful niche players and start-ups worldwide. Through his numerous consulting projects, he gained relevant experiences in the following areas:

  • Vision, Mission, Values, Overall targets
  • Development / Review of Group, Holding, Corporate, Business Unit and Functional Strategies
  • Business Model Design
  • Growth dynamics
  • High performance organization
  • Increase in profit and accretion
  • M&A and Start-up-Management

Head

Romed Guntern
lic.oec.HSG et lic.iur.HSG

Chief Executive Officer of the SGMI Institute of Management St. Gallen and Director of the Center for Strategic Management

Further information

+41 71 223 50 30

Navigation
Kontakt Kontakt +41 71 223 50 30 ENDE Switch to English

«Taktik ist, was man tun muss, wenn etwas zu tun ist. Strategie ist, was man tun muss, wenn nichts zu tun ist.» Das Zitat stammt von Savielly Grigorievitsch Tartakower. In den 20er Jahren des letzten Jahrhunderts war der Sohn eines Österreichers und einer Polin einer der besten Schachspieler der Welt. Der Grossmeister verfasste Bücher wie «Die hypermoderne Schachpartie» oder «Neoromantisches Schach», die bei Experten als Klassiker gelten. Aphorismen wie «Der zweitbeste Zug ist oft der einzig Richtige» sind bei Schachspielern auch gut 50 Jahre nach seinem Tod noch sehr beliebt. Mit solchen und ähnlichen Aussprüchen – heute Tartakowerismen genannt – pflegte der äusserst experimentierfreudige Spieler jeweils seine privaten Partien zu kommentieren.

Aus einer solchen Partie stammt auch das einleitende Zitat, das neben dem Schachbrett genauso Gültigkeit hat. Pointiert streicht Savielly Tartakower nämlich den Unterschied zwischen Taktik und Strategie heraus. Die Taktik bestimmt den nächsten Zug, die Strategie den ganzen Spielverlauf. Betriebswirtschaftlich gesprochen heisst das: Operative versus strategische Planung.

Mit dem «Center for Strategic Management» bieten wir ein umfassendes Angebot zum Thema. Consulting-Dienstleistungen sowie zielgruppenspezifische Seminare und Inhouse Programme mit Fokus auf die unternehmensrelevanten Aspekte strategischen Denkens und Handelns.

Je höher die Hierarchiestufe, desto wichtiger wird die Fähigkeit, langfristig zu planen. Während der Projektmanager den nächsten Meilenstein vor Augen hat, kreiert der Unternehmer Visionen auf Jahre hinaus. Nur so kann er neue Trends aufspüren, Geschäftszweige weiterentwickeln und sich einen Vorsprung gegenüber Mitbewerbern erarbeiten. Um das Tagesgeschäft kümmern sich andere, spezifisch dafür rekrutierte Führungskräfte. Und das ist gut so. Denn Strategien entstehen zwar immer im Gesamtkontext, jedoch möglichst losgelöst von einengenden Prozessen. Savielly Tartakower hat also tatsächlich Recht: «Strategie ist, was man tun muss, wenn nichts zu tun ist.»

Title

Beratungsdienstleistungen

  • Vision, Mission, Werte, oberste Zielvorgaben
  • Erarbeitung/Review von Konzern-, Unternehmens-, Geschäfts- und Funktionalstrategien 
  • Geschäftsmodell-Design
  • Wachstums-Dynamik steigern
  • Wertsteigerung 
  • Reorganisation
  • Restrukturierung
  • Unternehmens-Nachfolge

Center for Strategic Management: Seminare

SGMI Open Programs: Seminare

Master und Diplome

Leitung

Romed Guntern, lic.oec.HSG et lic.iur.HSG
Geschäftsführender Direktor des SGMI Management Instituts St. Gallen und Direktor des Center for Strategic Management

Romed Guntern studierte an der Universität St. Gallen (HSG) und erwarb die Lizenziate der Wirtschaftswissenschaften (lic.oec.) und der Rechtswissenschaften (lic.iur.). Er war wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Institut für Finanzwissenschaft und Finanzrecht der Universität St. Gallen und Assistent von Prof. Dr. Klaus Vallender.

Als langjähriger CEO entwickelte er das SGMI Management Institut St. Gallen zu einer der renommiertesten, international tätigen Business School aus dem deutschsprachigen Raum. Herr Guntern ist Vizepräsident der St. Gallen Group und des St. Galler Forschungsverbundes sowie Mitbegründer zahlreicher Start-ups. Als unternehmerischer Pragmatiker sitzt er im Verwaltungs-, Aufsichtsrat diverser Unternehmen.

Mit seiner 20-jährigen Dozenten- und Moderationserfahrung bei zahlreichen renommierten Institutionen und Corporate Universities sowie an Tagungen und Kongressen zählt er zu den renommiertesten Spezialisten für Unternehmensführung und Strategisches Management. Über die Jahre schulte er mehrere Tausend Executives.

Als Berater des Top- und Executive Managements betreut er namhafte in- und ausländische Unternehmen, Großkonzerne sowie erfolgreiche Nischenplayer aus dem Mittelstand und Start-ups. Aus einer Vielzahl von Beratungsprojekten verfügt er über einschlägige Erfahrungen in den Bereichen:

  • Vision, Mission, Werte, Oberste Ziele
  • Group-, Holding-, Unternehmens-, Geschäftsfeld- und Funktionalstrategien
  • Geschäftsmodell-Design
  • Wachstums-Dynamik
  • Hochleistungs-Organisation
  • Gewinn- und Wertsteigerung
  • M&A und Start-up-Management

Leitung

Romed Guntern
lic.oec.HSG et lic.iur.HSG

Geschäftsführender Direktor des SGMI Management Instituts St. Gallen und Direktor des Center for Strategic Management

Information und Beratung

+41 71 223 50 30